United Way of Southeast Missouri is an independent organization governed by community leaders and local volunteers to create opportunities for a better life for all. We are a member of United Way Worldwide, which supports nearly 1,800 communities in more than 40 countries. Under the guidance of our Board of Directors, we adhere to strict membership requirements to receive annual UWW certification.

Our fiscal year runs July 1-June 30, and donations from our workplace campaigns extend over an 18-month period. Thus, our audits run behind the calendar year. Our most recent audit and impact report are provided. We have in place policies that govern our organization, maintaining our transparency and accountability to those who trust us with their donations. We intentionally outsource our accounting,  have two different employees review all checks and requests, and have a financial committee review our finances along with our board of directors. All written policies and procedures are available for your review upon request.

Impact Report 2018-2019

 990 2018-2019

United Way 2019 Audit Report - 2018-2019 - June 2020.pdf

 View Our Privacy Policy

View the Ethics Policy

United Way Board of Directors


Adrienne Henry, PresidentDrury Southwest


Brandy McIntire, Vice President

Fox 23 / KBSI

Jane Myers, Treasurer

The Bank of Missouri

Quantella Noto

Southeast Missouri State University

Maureen Hodges


Phil Roop

Bethel Assembly of God

Jack Geissinger

Procter & Gamble

Darren Burgfeld

Humans of Cape,

River Radio

Jay Wolz

The Southeast Missourian


United Way Advisory Council

In 2018, United Way of Southeast Missouri's Board of Directors restructured our governing body to include an Advisory Council. This Council meets on an as-needed basis to update United Way leadership on what's happening in their respective fields. 

 Brian Gerau

Jackson Area Chamber of Commerce

John Mehner

Cape Girardeau Area Chamber of Commerce

Neil Glass

Cape Girardeau Public Schools

Brian Lee

Scott City R-1 Schools

John Link

Jackson R-2 Schools

 Sonia Rucker

Southeast Missouri State University

 Angie Umfleet

Chap Arnold Insurance

Jennifer Streiler

Perryville Schools

Stacy Lane


 Carrie Walker

Element 74

Jeanne Muckerman

Realty Executives

Calvin Garner

Community Caring Council

Denise Wimp

First Call for Help

Mayor Bob Fox

The City of Cape Girardeau

Mayor Dwain Hahs

The City of Jackson

Christie Mercer

Claire McCaskill

Debbie Lincoln

Malcolm McCrae

Lynnette Vickers

Family Support Division

Patty Ranzini


Francis Slay

Home State Health

Mark Hanko

Isle Casino Cape Girardeau

Leisa Blissett, MSW Connie Hanner

Ginny Chapman

Cross Trails Medical Center

Tony Thompson


John Gary

Gibson Recovery Center


Jane Wernsman

Cape Girardeau County Health


learn how your donations help real families in our community.

watch video

United Way is grateful to our sponsors